Do you choose to be happy?

This was in my email today….

“The good things in life do not create happiness. The good things in life arise from happiness. If you wish to be happy, then be happy. It really is as simple as that. There’s no need to wait until you acquire this or achieve that. If you constantly place conditions on happiness, you’ll prevent yourself from experiencing it. Go ahead and be happy now, today, this very moment. Be happy for no reason at all, and you’ll find that you’re more effective, more productive, more creative and more fulfilled. Indeed, happiness is a powerful state of mind that is available to you when you allow it to be. The best reason to be happy is because you can. Being genuinely happy is a powerful way to express your confidence and your expectation that positive things will happen. And when you confidently expect the best, that’s precisely what you get.” — Ralph Marston

As I read this I wonder, “is it really that easy?” I really don’t think so, at least not for me. I don’t believe that it just takes a snap of your fingers and all of a sudden your happy again. Sure, you can choose to either let something get the best of you or you can choose to deal with it, shake it off, and move on so you can be happy again.

My happiness depends so much on the happiness of others, sometimes I think too much. I’d rather the ones around me be happy than to wish for my own. That’s not a bad thing, but after a while it takes its toll when you set aside your own joy. It takes it’s toll when those around you recognize this character trait and take advantage. They take more than they give. In most cases they don’t even realize they do it. Even so, it doesn’t change how I am and it won’t change the fact that I will always reach out to those that need it. If I can bring a bit of joy to them, that pleases me.

So back to the original question. Do you choose to be happy? I guess I’ve come to the conclusion that its just not that simple in all cases. Depends on what the world throws at you. I believe you can choose how to handle the situation which will directly affect your mood. In some cases I suppose it can be as simple as saying I choose to be happy, to not let your self get down, of course, but in most cases its more complex than the excerpt above leads you to believe. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for happiness, I prefer it actually. Especially after these last few weeks. Its just sometimes its not that black and white.

~~Ciao~~

~ by KarrieLyne on November 19, 2007.

One Response to “Do you choose to be happy?”

  1. As well intentioned as it may have sounded, happiness should not be our goal in life. Happiness is a feeling, and feelings will lie to you. They change on a whim. The Bible says: The joy of the LORD is my strength (Nehemiah 8:10).
    If we live as if this world is what it is al about, then we are missing the big picture. It’s not about being happy in the here and now. It’s about eternal joy. Happiness is temporary, that’s why you have to keep chasing it. Don’t waste your time on chasing what is just a by product of a joyful spirit.
    Chose to be joyful about what has eternal value, and you will be happy more often. More importantly, when things are down and lowly, you will have the assurance that it is only temporary.
    That is the Joy that will carry you through.

Leave a comment